How Does Car Insurance Work in the State of Texas?

Getting injured in a Fort Worth, TX, car accident is stressful. Not only are you dealing with potentially serious injuries, but you also need to figure out how your mounting medical bills and other expenses are going to get paid. Our Texas car insurance attorneys can help you through this trying time.

Anderson Injury Lawyers have been fighting hard for Texas injury victims since 2007. Our exceptional personal injury attorneys have recovered hundreds of millions of dollars for accident victims like you. 

Our Texas car accident attorneys at Anderson Injury Lawyers will pursue the compensation you rightfully deserve so you can tend to your most important job—recovering from your injuries.

Feel free to call at (817) 294-1900, real help is just a phone call away. Contact Anderson Injury Lawyers today for a free, no-obligation consultation. Our Fort Worth car accident lawyers will listen to your side of the story, explain your legal rights and obligations, and then work on getting every dollar you’re entitled to.  

How Can Anderson Injury Lawyers Help Me After a Fort Worth, Texas Car Accident? 

How Can Anderson Injury Lawyers Help Me After a Texas Car Accident? 

Understanding car insurance is challenging under the best of circumstances. But when dealing with injuries after a Texas car accident, it becomes an even more daunting task. 

Because we have decades of experience, Anderson Injury Lawyers understand car insurance inside and out. Through our tenacity and dedication to our clients, we have gotten extraordinary settlements and jury verdicts on their behalf.  

When you select Anderson Injury Lawyers to advocate for you, we’ll make sure you understand how car insurance works in Texas so that you better understand your rights. We can also:

  • Scrutinize your insurance policy to determine what coverage you have
  • Conduct our own investigation into the scene of the accident
  • Collect essential evidence, such as police reports and witness interviews
  • Identify each individual or entity responsible for your injuries 

Our Texas personal injury lawyers understand how insurance companies work, and we’re not afraid to press them to make a fair settlement offer. Reach out to us today in Fort Worth, Texas, to get started.

What Types of Car Insurance Are There in Texas?

Texas is an “at-fault” state. This means the person who caused the accident is liable for all the injuries resulting from the accident.

Failure to have the required car insurance coverage can result in a fine between $175 and $350 for the first offense. Additional offenses could result in significantly greater fines, having your car impounded, and your driver’s license revoked. 

There are several types of car insurance coverage in Texas for the variety of injuries and damages that could be incurred in a car accident.

Liability Insurance

In Texas, drivers are required to carry liability insurance. This coverage pays for the medical expenses of people who were injured in an accident caused by the driver. It also covers any damage to other drivers’ cars and property.

Collision Coverage

Regardless of who is at fault for the accident, this coverage will pay for damage to your car. If your car was totaled in the accident, it will cover the replacement of your car. Texas law doesn’t require you to have this kind of coverage. However, because car repairs can be very expensive, it’s a good idea to have collision coverage nonetheless.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

PIP coverage pays for reasonable medical expenses you incur as a result of a car accident. It also covers family members living in your household, passengers, and anyone who is driving your car with your permission. In addition, it will pay 80% of your lost wages.

You are not required under Texas law to have PIP coverage. In order to waive it, you must inform your insurance company in writing. 

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If you’re involved in a car accident that wasn’t your fault, and the responsible driver doesn’t have insurance, this coverage will pay for medical expenses related to the accident. Because you never know if the other person who causes the accident has insurance, you should strongly consider having uninsured motorist coverage. 

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Texas?

Under Texas law, a driver is required to have a certain minimum amount of liability car insurance coverage. This minimum coverage is known as “30/60/25” coverage because you must carry at least the following:

  • $30,000 for bodily injury liability per each person in an accident you caused
  • $60,000 for total bodily injury liability if more than one person is injured in the accident 
  • $25,000 in property damage liability, which covers the cost of property damage in the accident you caused

The important thing to remember here is that this is just the minimum coverage that Texas drivers are required to have. If you only purchased the minimum coverage, but the accident you caused incurs damages exceeding these minimums, you could be liable for the rest.

There’s a lot to think about when considering how your medical expenses are going to get paid after a Texas car accident. Trust Anderson Injury Lawyers to help you through this complex process so you can focus on recovering. 

Our Distinguished Fort Worth, TX Auto Accident Lawyers Are Here for You 

Understanding how car insurance in Texas works is important. If you’re ever injured in an accident, you must know your rights and obligations.

Anderson Injury Lawyers will sit down with you to review your insurance policy. Together, we’ll create a sound strategy to get you the maximum compensation for your injuries.

Call us today for a free, no-obligation consultation with an experienced Fort Worth car accident lawyer. We’ll explain how car insurance works in Texas and answer any questions you may have about your insurance coverage and injuries.

We handle all types of car accident claims, including:

Additional Fort Worth Car Accident Resources