Anderson Injury Lawyers | May 17, 2023 | Car Accidents
Accidents can occur almost anywhere. When they do, they frequently catch people unaware. Fortunately, because so many people have been in similar situations, it’s possible to find answers to specific questions online.
That said, it’s always a good idea to contact a Dallas car accident lawyer to get answers tailored to your specific circumstances.
Do You Have to Report a Car Accident in Texas?
Reporting an accident is important if you wish to seek compensation. That’s because filing the initial report creates a paper trail that can help in the event of settlement negotiations, litigation, or both.
With this in mind, Texas requires individuals to report accidents if they meet three specific requirements.
First, the property damage to a single vehicle must exceed $1,000. Second, you must report a car accident if anyone involved has sustained physical injuries. Third, you must report the accident if one or more fatalities occurred as a result.
In the event of serious accidents, you should call 911 immediately. Doing so gives medical personnel and law enforcement a chance to safely move vehicles off the road and assist the injured.
What if You Don’t Report a Car Accident?
Failure to report a car accident in Texas, provided the accident meets any of the criteria mentioned above, can result in steep legal penalties, up to and including incarceration for a hit-and-run violation. Specific financial penalties include fines of up to $5,000.
How Do You Report a Car Accident in Dallas?
To report a car accident, you must first evaluate whether the situation is an emergency. If any of the parties involved are seriously maimed or deceased, or there are vehicles creating a hazard at the accident site, you should call 911.
However, if an accident doesn’t require urgent emergency services, you can call the Dallas Police Department’s non-emergency hotline at 214-744-4444 to make a report.
Why Is It Important to Report Car Accidents?
Reporting car accidents is crucial for accountability and financial compensation. If you’ve been injured due to another party’s negligent actions, you’re entitled to seek compensation. Reporting the accident is the first step of the process.
When you report an accident, the police will use the information you provide to create a report, which will be kept on file for a certain amount of time. If you decide to seek compensation as a result of injury or property damage, you’ll need to give this report to your car accident lawyer so they can plan your litigation strategy.
When Can You Request a Copy of the Police Report?
If the officer doesn’t give you a copy of the police report on-site, you can request one approximately ten days after the accident.
Either way, make it a point to ask the responding officer for a report number while you’re still at the scene of the accident, as this will make tracking down the report much less arduous when the time comes.
Can a Dallas Car Accident Attorney Help You?
Yes. A car accident attorney can help you in many ways, including requesting a police report.
In fact, if you retain a lawyer prior to receiving the police report, they may request that you let them handle things from that point on. This is a great way to save time and minimize stress while the process plays out.
Understanding your rights as a citizen is paramount to successfully navigating the aftermath of a car accident. By understanding some of the nuances of car accident reporting in Dallas, you should be a little more prepared to respond in the event of a mishap.